Edward Carey

Listen to the interview

We’ll be talking with the novelist, visual artist and playwright, Edward Carey this week about his latest novel, LITTLE (Riverhead Books, October 23, 2018), 

Writing on the Air is broadcast Wednesdays from 6-7pm Central from the KOOP Radio studios in Austin, Texas. We’re heard on 91.7FM KOOP – Austin and streaming online at KOOP.org.  You can also listen online at TuneIn.com and Radio Free America.  Episodes are available in our Radio Free America archive for two weeks after broadcast.

Did you know we have over 150 podcast episodes? We invite you to browse them here on our website; you can download the audios from each page. Our podcast is also available for download from the Podcast ap and iTunes.  

For show updates, be sure and follow us on Facebook and Twitter. We’re glad you’re here, and thanks for listening to our show.

Edward Carey is a novelist, visual artist, and playwright. His latest novel is LITTLE (Riverhead Books, October 23, 2018),  which has taken him a ridiculous fifteen years to finish. He always draws the characters he writes about, but often the illustrations contradict the writing and vice versa and getting both to agree with each other takes him far too long.

Edward’s acclaimed YA series, the Iremonger Trilogy ( Heap House, Foulsham and Lungdon, was a fan favorite, with citations for Best Books of the Year by The New York Times, NPR, and Kirkus Reviews. Edward is also the author of two adult novels, Observatory Mansions and Alva and Irva.  He has illustrated all six of his novels. 

Born in England, he now teaches at the University of Texas in Austin, where he lives with his wife, the author Elizabeth McCracken, and their family.

Reviews and Praise for LITTLE (Riverhead Books, October 23, 2018)
 
“A delightfully strange portrait of a young orphan honing her eccentric craft amid the tumult of the French Revolution. Carey’s flair for macabre whimsy has drawn comparisons to Tim Burton (take a look at the illustrations and you can see why). While death haunts this story, between vibrant characters and riveting historical detail, Little is a novel that teems with life.” Time 

 “Sparkling, bizarre [and] several years in the making.” Entertainment Weekly

“Edward Carey writes wonderfully weird books about wonderfully weird things. This one imagines the life of Madame Tussaud—of wax museum fame—as a little girl. It’s a hefty historical novel that promises to be a pageturner, too.” Celeste Ng

“One of the most original historical novels of the year. . . . Macabre, funny, touching and oddly life-affirming, Little is a remarkable achievement.” The Times (London)

“A wonderfully weird exploration of spectacles, from wax heads to revolutions, that will delight lovers of the macabre.” BookPage

“Dark and delightful, playful and peculiar, Little is Edward Carey’s absorbing, fictional re-creation of Madame Tussaud’s early life… Carey’s spirited style brings a lightness to Marie’s bleak days and a whimsy to her brighter ones. He blends dark humor with a puckish tone for a story that’s simply magnetic… Little is big in many ways: creativity, energy, concept and character. Leave plenty of room in your heart for this one; you’ll need it.” —Shelf Awareness

“A wildly creative reimagining of the work and life of an artist more associated with George Clooney than Maximilien Robespierre. Admirers of Gregory Maguire will be delighted.” –Library Journal (starred)

“Carey channels the ghosts of Charles Dickens, Henry Fielding, and the Brothers Grimm to tell Marie’s tale, populating it with grotesques and horrors worthy of Madame Tussaud’s celebrated wax museum… A quirky, compelling story that deepens into a meditation on mortality and art.” Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“There is nothing ordinary about this book, in which everything animate and inanimate lives, breathes, and remembers. Carey, with sumptuous turns of phrase, fashions a fantastical world that churns with vitality, especially his “Little,” a female Candide at once surreal and full of heart.”  Publisher’s Weekly (starred)

“An immensely creative epic…Mingling a sense of playfulness with macabre history, Carey depicts the excesses of wealth and violence during the French Revolution through the eyes of a talented woman who lived through it and survived…The unique perspective, witty narrative voice, and clever illustrations make for an irresistible read.” —Booklist (starred)

“Don’t miss this eccentric charmer! Little, by Edward Carey, narrated by Madame Tussaud of waxworks fame, [on] her strange life and times, including the almost fatal French Revolution, a prime season for heads.” —Margaret Atwood, on Twitter
 
Little is bawdy, tragic, mesmerizing, hilarious. If you’ve forgotten why you’d even read a novel, Edward Carey is here to set you straight.” —Alexander Chee
 
Little is exquisitely sensitive to all the warmth, vigor, humor, woe, and peculiarities of human nature, as if the writer had a dowsing rod capable of divining what hides within the human heart. Carey is without peer.” —Kelly Link

“A deliciously disturbing treasure of a novel. Sensual, unassumingly poignant, heartbreaking, cruel, joyous: Edward Carey’s Little is a triumph and one of the most intoxicating novels I’ve read. I never wanted to leave Marie’s side.” —Sarah Schmidt

“An amazing achievement…A compulsively readable novel, so canny and weird and surfeited with the reality of human capacity and ingenuity that I am stymied for comparison. Dickens and David Lynch? Defoe meets Margaret Atwood? Judge for yourself.” —Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked

About LITTLE (Riverhead Books, October 23, 2018)

The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud.

In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and . . . at the wax museum, heads are what they do.

In the tradition of Gregory Maguire’s Wicked and Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, Edward Carey’s Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel–a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love. –Riverhead Books

For more information, please see the author’s website.  You can keep up with Edward Carey on Facebook and Twitter.